Welcome to LOCUS: A journey in search of PLACE

Welcome to LOCUS: A journey in search of PLACE.  This photo shows the Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina as viewed from the peak of Mount Mitchell, the highest point east of the Mississippi River.

Photograph taken by Brian Scott Casey

Follow me, in LOCUS: A journey in search of PLACE.

The genre of travel writing deals primarily in PLACE.  Places to see, how to get there, and what to do once you arrive.  Sensory descriptions to evoke a sense of place to a reader who has never been there.

These are mainstays that we have come to expect from travelogues.  We read them voraciously, devouring destinations from our arm chairs.

What truth exists in the heart of a place beyond these things?  How is life defined by place, and what can we as travelers learn from this?

What place does a traveler exist within?  Always in motion, moving across the world, do we possess a place of our own?

My words grow from the Blue Ridge Mountains that rise all around me.  This photo was taken driving through Western North Carolina, on my way to Mount Mitchell.

     Photograph taken by Brian Scott Casey

My name is Kerri Nicole Casey.  I am a writer trying to find my own place in the world.

In LOCUS: A journey in search of PLACE, I will be asking questions and going out into the world looking for answers.

In this blog, I plan to explore place within the context of four categories:

  • TRAVEL
  • NATURE
  • WRITING
  • and LIFE as I know it.

I will paint a picture of the places I go with my words.  I will take my settings down from life, endeavoring to write them as honestly and completely as I can.

Each place will become the root for my words, and each blog post will grow organically from the place in which it was written.

The header and photographs will change as my place does, reflecting the setting which gives rise to the words that appear here.

By this point, I am sure you have gathered that my words currently spring forth from the cool haze of the Blue Ridge mountains.

Mount Mitchell reels past my open window as my car winds its way to the top.  The Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina spread into the distance.

Photograph taken by Brian Scott Casey

I am writing to you now from the inside of a moving car.  The fresh, cool air lifts at the pages of my notebook as it comes through my open window.

The past reels behind me on the highway, and I am free.  Weightless.  In love with the motion of moving forward.

This is my home.  With this pen in my hand, as I lay my words between these same, familiar blue lines.

The margins of the paper are the roof and the walls, and my words are a door into the world around me.

No matter what place I am in, no matter where I go or what happens there, I am never more myself than right here, written down.

Outside the window mountains tumble into the distance, their green bleeding into sapphire as they stretch towards the horizon. From here, I can see many places at once.

The Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina tumble into the distance as I near the top of Mount Mitchell, their green bleeding into sapphire as they stretch towards the horizon.

Photograph taken by Brian Scott Casey

‘What is true everywhere?’ I wonder.

Before my eyes, life plummets to the valleys and surges triumphantly up to the highest peaks, touching the clouds.

All around me the mountains are like worlds rising and falling against the sky, borrowing its blue.

Beyond are whole worlds that look nothing like this one, countless places which define life in infinitely different ways.

The utter beauty of this place stirs in my soul in deep and twisting ways.  I feel these mountains putting roots in me, and I wonder how long they will hold.

This image shows the view from Mount Mitchell in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina.  From here, I can see many places at once.

Photograph taken by Brian Scott Casey

I am a rootless creature by nature, drifting when I can.

I become restless sitting in one place for too long.  I feel motion crawling under my skin, sending me off into the world in search of somewhere new.

I long to sail in the wind.  To travel to different places.  To find what I’m looking for.

I invite you to follow me on my journey, to read about the places I go and whatever answers may be out there waiting for me.

But in truth, this blog is all about the questions.

I encourage you to find your own answers.  Go out into the world looking for them. Come back here.  Tell me what you found.

To read more about my journeys as they unfold, be sure to follow this blog to be notified of new posts.

I cast my words into the sun.  This image shows sun rays radiating across the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina, as viewed from the top of Mount Mitchell, the highest peak east of the Mississippi River.

Photograph taken by Brian Scott Casey

I cast my words into the sun, in the hopes that they will grow in the minds of the people who read them.

Post your places and your thoughts in the comments below.  Join the discussion! Let’s find out how life grows from the place it is planted in.

One thought on “Welcome to LOCUS: A journey in search of PLACE

Leave a Reply

